Nature and use of Nakshatras

The zodiac is divided in 12 signs of 30 degree each and the signs are further divided into 27 nakshatras or asterisms which have their own characteristics, these nakshatras are very useful to determine Muhurta or auspicious time for various ceremonies and works. We will take a look at the nature and use of nakshatras in this article.

This is a very basic but important part in astrology which we often neglect, I am writing this for the benefit of the readers as well as my own self as manana is always required at regular intervals. Today being Bali-padyami I have started my day with writing one small piece of article so that I may continue to write and contribute more to astrology readers and enthusiast.

Nature and use of Nakshatras

Each nakshatra spans the arc of 3 degrees and 20 minutes which is known as one pada and a rashi is made up of 9 padas which means 2 full nakshatras and 1 pada of the 3rd nakshatra. The names of the nakshatras are follows:

  1. Ashwini
  2. Bharni
  3. Krittika
  4. Rohini
  5. Mrigshira
  6. Ardra
  7. Punarvasu
  8. Pushya
  9. Ashlesha
  10. Magha
  11. Poorva-phalguni
  12. Uttara-phalguni
  13. Hastha
  14. Chitra
  15. Swati
  16. Visakha
  17. Anuradha
  18. Jyestha
  19. Moola
  20. Poorvashada
  21. Uttarashada
  22. Shravan
  23. Dhanistha
  24. Shatabhishaka
  25. Poorvabhadrapada
  26. Uttara bhadrapada
  27. Revati.
  28. Abhijeet is the 28th Nakshatra which has no separate place but lies at 6.40 minutes to 13.20 minutes in Makar rasi.
Nature of Nakshatras

Ugra nakshatras (Fiery or Aggressive asterisms)

  • Bharni
  • Poorva-phalguni
  • Moola
  • Poorva bhadrapada

The above nakshatras are ugra/fiery in nature and can be auspicious for starting any work of aggressive nature like fights, quarrels, battles, wars etc.

Mishra nakshatra (Mixed asterisms)

  • Krittika
  • Visakha

The above 2 nakshatras are misra or mixed in nature and can be used for mixed activities.

Mridu nakshatras (light nakshatras)

  • Ashwini
  • Pushya
  • Hastha
  • Shravana

The above 4 nakshatras are light in nature and are auspicious for starting any activity like education, arts, buying and selling etc.

Maitri nakshatras (Friendly nakshatras)

  1. Mrigshira
  2. Chitra
  3. Anuradha
  4. Revati

The above 4 nakshatras are classified as friendly and can be used for auspicious works like starting friendship, a new relationship, extending hand for friendship, peace, wearing new clothes etc.

Daruna nakshatras (Fierce/hard nakshatras)

  1. Ardra
  2. Ashlesha
  3. Jyestha
  4. Moola

The above 4 are classified as daruna or hard nakshatras and are usually avoided for any auspicious activity.

Adhomukhi nakshatras (Down face nakshatras)

  1. Bharni
  2. Ashlesha
  3. Magha
  4. Poorva-phalguni
  5. Visakha
  6. Poorva-shada
  7. Poorva bhadrapada

The above 7 nakshatras are classified as down facing nakshatras and are good for works like digging wells, tanks, mining etc.

Urdhvamukhi nakshtras (Up faced nakshatras)

  1. Rohini
  2. ardra
  3. Pushya
  4. uttara-phalguni
  5. uttara-shada
  6. shravan
  7. dhanistha
  8. shatabhishaka
  9. uttara-bhadrapada

The above 9 nakshatras are classified as up facing and good for getting favors of boss, government, promotional activity etc.

Triyangamukha nakshatras (Triple face nakshtras)

  1. Ashwini
  2. Mrigashira
  3. Punarvasu
  4. hastha
  5. chitra
  6. swati
  7. anuradha
  8. jyestha
  9. revati

The above 9 nakshatras are classified as triple facing and considered good for journey, purchasing etc.

Dagdha nakshatras (Burnt stars)

  1. Bharni on Sunday
  2. Chitra on Monday
  3. Uttara-shada on Tuesday
  4. Dhanistha on Wednesday
  5. Uttara-phalguni on Thursday
  6. Jyestha on Friday
  7. Revati on Saturday

These nakshatras falling on the above mentioned weekdays are considered as dagdha nakshatras and are inauspicious to start any new activity or work.

Fixed nakshatras/Sthira nakshatras

  1. Rohini
  2. Uttaraphalguni
  3. Uttara-shada
  4. Uttara-bhadrapada

Rohini and all Uttara’s come in the ambit of fixed nakshatras, These nakshatras are very auspicious to do work which is of fixed nature like Marriage, Building a house, Entering a house, starting a business. Any activity which will be continued for long term can be started on this nakshatra.

Movable nakshatras or Chara nakshatras

  1. Punarvasu
  2. Swati
  3. Shravana
  4. Dhanistha
  5. Shatabhishaka

The above 5 nakshatras are movable and chara in nature hence they can be auspicious for undertaking journey or any activity related to movement or short term.

The above information on the nature and use of nakshatras comes handy while calculating muhurta or giving predictions in jyotisha shastra. Those who aspire to learn jyotisha should know these basics to gain more expertise in this shastra. If you liked reading the above post do share it with your friends and show more love to our blog as you have always done till now.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.